Since I went out to see director Christopher Nolan’s new movie, with astronauts aiming for distant space, I’ve noticed mixed opinions. I’m not an expert on the science involved in ideas such as wormholes. So whether or not there were errors in that aspect of “Interstellar,” I still like it enough to be one of my favorites this year.

Before seeing the movie, I didn’t follow info about it regarding all of the cast members; I only caught the trailers. As a result, many faces were a surprise – John Lithgow, Casey Affleck, Michael Caine, William Devane, Topher Grace, Matt Damon, Ellen Burstyn. Everyone together made for an excellent all-star cast.

Strong emotions between Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) and his daughter, Murph, brought about thoughts of what it’s like for a loved one to go into space. On top of not wanting him to go, her resentment grows over the years and eventually shifts as she continues on work with Professor Brand (Caine). Jessica Chastain is one of my newer favorite actresses because she brings so much talent to a role, whether it’s a lead or as in “Interstellar,” her shared role of Murph, with Burstyn and Mackenzie Foy. Brand (Anne Hathaway) was very nurturing and assured Cooper of his daughter’s being alright. That aspect of her character showed in her time on the mission, as she followed the idea of love and its factor to drive people. When Dr. Mann (Damon) emerged from that terrifyingly claustrophic, watery sleep chamber, his relief was striking. It was one of those scenes that gave me chills because he was so lucky, having beat great odds. Also, more unexpected moments came along between Dr. Mann and Cooper, which had me wondering who was going to survive.

The special effects, of course, were another reason why I enjoyed Nolan’s space adventure. I chose to see it in IMAX because of the movie’s visual elements, although I was surprised at the cost. It had gone up a few bucks since the last time I was at the same theater, when I saw “Gravity.” However, the ticket purchase earned me a free movie ticket and popcorn.

Anyway, my favorite moments with the special effects included the launch, the watery surface landing and the spaceship close-ups as it seemed to movie slowly along on the journey. During the tidal wave scene, the TARS machine maneuvered in an odd and surprising manner to assist in crew survival. The spinning movements of spacecraft and Earth sometimes felt dizzying, although not to a severe degree. I couldn’t help but wonder, if I were an astronaut, would I be more bothered or wowed in seeing that. Although I love stunning special effects, the scenes of fast-paced and flashing lights were my least favorite moments. They were brief, but a little bit difficult to watch without shading my eyes.

That brings me to the part of movie that follows, which is both confusing and very creative. For anyone else who has seen “Interstellar,” it’s when Cooper is suddenly surrounded by bookshelves. Even though it had a “what is going on here” feeling, I was impressed because I couldn’t imagine coming up with that. I’ve taken several film classes and if I were heading toward a screenwriting path, I don’t picture doing so in the sci-fi genre. Just the idea of imagining new fantasy worlds and characters or in Nolan’s movie, human characters in such situations, it really takes a mind for writing science fiction.

My writing talents aren’t in sci-fi and that’s probably part of why I love just watching a lot of these movies. The imaginations of those who create in this genre always leave me in awe of their work.

Any thoughts on “Interstellar?”