My trip to Ireland was an amazing experience and since I’ve been back home, I wrote about each day’s events on my photo / travel blog. As I hoped, I saw some film locations and music-related sites while sightseeing in Dublin and outside of the city. Here are the pop culture highlights from my eight-day global studies across the pond. Some were actual places connected to movies and music, while others were decorated with images of famous faces.

Before arriving in Dublin, I wasn’t sure of the location of this statue memorializing the lead singer of Thin Lizzy. Wandering around on Grafton Street with others from my group, I spotted it just steps off of the main shopping area and outside of a pub.

1 Thin Lizzy

Also, on a nearby Grafton Street building was this rock history marker.

2 Rock Roll Trail

Dublin’s Hard Rock Cafe in the Temple Bar area of the city. I saw the famously-named cafe as several of us were deciding where to grab dinner. We ended up at the Thunder Road Cafe, which a mixture of music and movie-themed decor. Signs displayed lyrics to road songs, posters of Clint Eastwood in a western and Marlon Brando in “The Wild One” were hanging on one wall. Afterward, we stopped in one pub that had a photo of James Dean walking in New York City hanging on an upstairs wall near live entertainment.

3 Hard Rock Dublin

4 TR Cafe

While leading us a tour of Kilmainham Gaol, the tour guide told a very thorough history of the site. In this area of the old prison, he stated that it had been used in several movies (including “In the Name of the Father” and an earlier version of “The Italian Job”) and a U2 video.

5 Kilmainham

I’m not sure how late these were showing on Aug. 8, which was the day I went out to Connemara by bus with two other students. Once back in Dublin, we ate at O’Neill’s and returned to our rooms to pack for the flight back to Philly. So I’ll have to look around for more info on these films.

6 Irish Silent Film

We quickly passed by The Clarence Hotel as the tour bus bound for Connemara went through Dublin to reach the nearest motorway. Once we reached Connemara, our driver pointed out a bridge on which classic Hollywood actor John Wayne’s picture was taken. I didn’t get a good photo of the bridge, but have plenty of the general area and its mountainous terrain.

7 Connemara

As we approached Kylemore Abbey, the driver also told us that actress Angelica Huston spent time at the enchanting setting.

8 Kylemore

Following the quick photo stop at Kylemore Abbey, we went on a cruise of Killary Harbour. I didn’t know of any film location use at the time. However, the views of rugged land reminded me somewhat of scenes in the “Lord of the Rings” trilogy, even though New Zealand was the location for those movies.

9 Boat Views

Check out the blog posts I wrote about my trip to Ireland at PhotoJourney; they’re all tagged with “Ireland 2014” and “Global Studies.”

I hope to see more film and music-related locations on a future visit to Dublin and out to the Irish countryside.