Heading into this year’s Golden Globes, I’ve seen a couple of movies with nominations (“Gravity” and “Rush”).  Later today, I’ll be going to see “The Wolf of Wall Street” with two friends.  I’m hoping to catch a few others before the Oscars as well.  I usually do want to see as many award season movies each year.  Otherwise, it seems difficult for me to really have an informed personal opinion on them.

If I do go to see some of the other nominated movies, they’ll include “American Hustle,” “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty,” “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” and “Labor Day.”  “Captain Phillips” is another one if it’s released on DVD before the Oscars.  I’m not sure how many I’ll catch, since I’m trying to save money for another trip to New York City for a Broadway show.

Anyway, just based on what I have seen and the trailers of the rest of them, here are my favorite nominees.

Movies

  • Motion Picture, Drama: “Captain Phillips,” “Gravity,” or “Rush”
  • Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy: “American Hustle” or “The Wolf of Wall Street”
  • Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama: Sandra Bullock (“Gravity”), Kate Winslet (“Labor Day”)or Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”)
  • Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama: Tom Hanks (“Captain Phillips”)
  • Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy: Amy Adams (“American Hustle”)
  • Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy: Leonardo DiCaprio (“The Wolf of Wall Street”)
  • Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture: Jennifer Lawrence (“American Hustle”)
  • Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture: Daniel Bruhl (“Rush”)
  • Director: Alfonso Cuaron (“Gravity”) or Paul Greengrass (“Captain Phillips”)
  • Screenplay, Motion Picture: Eric Warren Singer & David O. Russell (“American Hustle”)
  • Foreign Language Film: “The Past”
  • Animated Feature Film: “Frozen”
  • Original Song: “Let It Go” (“Frozen”)
  • Original Score: Steven Price (“Gravity”)

In terms of each nominated series as whole, I really have to catch up on a lot more here.  I just tend to pick my favorites for these categories partly based on the genres I like.  Historical period costume dramas and sci-fi fantasy are just a couple of examples, which follows a lot of my favorite movies over the years as well.

TV

  • TV Series, Drama: “Breaking Bad” or “Downton Abbey”
  • TV Series, Comedy: “The Big Bang Theory”
  • TV Movie or Mini-Series: “The White Queen”
  • Actress in a TV Series, Drama: Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife”)
  • Actor in a TV Series, Drama: Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”)
  • Actress in a TV Series, Comedy: Zooey Deschanel (“New Girl”)
  • Actor in a TV Series, Comedy: Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”)
  • Actress in a Mini-Series or TV Movie: Helena Bonham Carter (“Burton and Taylor”) or Rebecca Ferguson (“The White Queen”)
  • Actor in a Mini-Series or TV Movie: Matt Damon (“Behind the Candelabra”)
  • Supporting Actress in a Series, Mini-Series or TV Movie: Janet McTeer (“The White Queen”)
  • Supporting Actor in a Series, Mini-Series or TV Movie: Aaron Paul (“Breaking Bad”)

What are your thoughts on the Golden Globe 2014 nominees?