Now that “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” is playing in theaters, I thought I’d write about the J.R.R. Tolkien stories brought to film.  I haven’t seen this latest addition to the franchise yet, only because I want to watch last year’s “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” first.  It’s been listed a few times on the TV Guide grid, airing on some upper-level channels I don’t have at the moment.  So, I just decided to buy a copy on DVD to catch up on Peter Jackson’s films.

LOTR DVD Set

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been a fan of other films with a fairytale medieval setting and conflicts between good and evil.  It was only natural that I’d take a liking to “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” (2001).  Right away, the trailer caught my interest with the special effects and the story of trouble revolving around a powerful piece of jewelry.

Before seeing it, I was unfamiliar with most of the main cast other than Elijah Wood, Sean Astin, Liv Tyler and classic horror icon Christopher Lee.  But everyone became new favorites as that first part of the story continued; the same goes for new faces in the sequels that followed.  I also loved the Celtic knotwork detail in various structures and costume pieces and the dresses worn by Miranda Otto, as Eowyn, were my favorite among character garb.  Some of the most memorable scenes to me, in random order, throughout the LOTR trilogy included:

  • Wizard meeting between Gandalf and Saruman
  • Arwen taking Frodo to Rivendell on horseback
  • Aragorn fighting the enemy to let Frodo escape
  • Galadriel’s ring test
  • Boromir still fighting after being struck by arrows
  • Gollum / Smeagol arguing with himself
  • Sam’s “worth fighting for” speech
  • Gimli competing with Legolas in battle scenes
  • Bilbo’s crazy face when trying to see the ring
  • King Theoden’s transformation back to normal
  • Eowyn battling Sauron to defend her father
  • Merry and Pippin persuading the trees to fight
  • Legolas sliding down the stairs shooting arrows
  • Frodo fighting with Gollum / Smeagol at Mordor

Jackson’s trilogy of hobbits, elves, dwarves, wizards, orcs, dragons, wraiths and human characters has become one of my favorites.  But along with the cast, costumes, special effects and genre, I am also a fan of its film location.  If I ever visit New Zealand, I’ll definitely take a tour of the sites used to help bring an epic tale to life.

Given all of that, I look forward to watching “The Hobbit” films.  What are your favorite scenes and who are your favorite characters in Middle Earth?