In a previous post, I mentioned not getting around to watching the most recent DVDs I’ve bought due to some technical issues.  My laptop’s DVD drive needs repairs, the desktop’s audio isn’t working despite everything being connected and plugged in.  A regular DVD player just needs to be set up to use with the television.  However, I now have the option to use a portable one in the meantime.  So, I’m looking forward to watching some of the movies I’m behind on and writing about them.

A few DVDs to catch up on.

A few DVDs to catch up on.

Besides those DVDs I haven’t watched, there are all of my “movies to see” lists; many of what I listed are movies that I still have to check out sometime.

Also, I’m heading into my third week of grad school and one of my classes is an online format one about the business side of film.  Taking more film classes is something that I was hoping to do wherever I ended for graduate studies, even if it wouldn’t be a major at that level.  Past classes on the subject were on film theory, aesthetics and history, as well as one in which the work of a specific director was discussed.  It’ll be very helpful to add knowledge about the business end of the film industry.

Three of my film business textbooks.

Three of my film business textbooks.

You can see from the photo that the class will include a wealth of information to help writers; one other book was still on the way at the time of the photo.  I don’t know to what degree I’ll end up in a film career through that aspect of bringing something to the screen.  But, as with any field, it’s important to understand how the business side works.  In an undergraduate career prep class, one thing we were told is to read publications related to our chosen field to be up-to-date on important industry news.

In terms of film and writing, I would like to write film reviews for various publications and movie websites.  That’s another reason to catch up on watching my DVDs, to write more posts in which I share my thoughts on what I see.  If I were to go into filmmaking, my interests would be toward the independent genre.  Maybe working in some capacity with documentaries as well.