On a recent stop at Barnes & Noble, I decided to buy a few more movies since there was a sale running for DVDs and books.  Three of them were on my list of DVDs to buy at some point and the fourth one, “Papillon” (1973) starring Steve McQueen, was a random choice.  I hadn’t seen that particular one before, which also stars Dustin Hoffman.  So, with two great actors, I thought, why not check it out?

DVDs 4 Actors

I haven’t seen “The Letter” (2012) yet either, starring James Franco and Winona Ryder.  In the store, it was stocked among other thrillers and a number of my favorite movies can be classified that way as well.  Cast-wise, it’s been a while since I’ve seen Ryder in new movies.  However, I am a fan of a variety of movies in which she starred throughout the 1990s.  The other DVDs I bought also included favorite actresses (Vivien Leigh, Claire Danes).  Although with this combo, I went for movies starring favorite lead actors, classic and present-day (McQueen, Marlon Brando, Leonardo DiCaprio and Franco).

The next DVDs I buy will be picked for a few favorite actresses in the lead roles.  Here are a few such movies I have in mind:

  • “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” (2004)
  • “Les Miserables” (2012)
  • “Never Been Kissed” (1999)
  • “Mona Lisa Smile” (2003)

In terms of movie-going, I haven’t been out to see anything since May.  However, after a couple of nights dining out, I now have four discount tickets that are good to use at the Regal Cinemas.  Now I just have to decide what movie or movies to see, find out who else wants to go and what they’re interested in watching.

Lastly, with my first grad school classes lined up, one is an online course that centers on the film world.  I’ve been looking forward to taking more film-related classes, even if it’s just here and there within another major.