Gatsby Tote Mags

I couldn’t wait for Baz Luhrmann’s “The Great Gatsby” and then, it’s release to start showing in theaters was delayed.  Images and trailers guaranteed that the movie would be another favorite this year and overall.  Leonardo DiCaprio has been one of my favorite actors since “Romeo + Juliet” (1996) which I caught on TV recently; his role as Jack Dawson in “Titanic” solidified him as a favorite.  I’m among those that went to the theater more than once to see James Cameron’s blockbuster movie; twice back then and once more when the 3-D version was showing last year.

DiCaprio’s co-stars in this new version of the literary classic are also among my favorites for their previous roles.  I love movies with different time period costumes and this would be another one in which Carey Mulligan starred.  The “Spider-Man” trilogy is among recent movies that made me a fan of Tobey Maguire.  I’ve only seen Isla Fisher in “Confessions of a Shopaholic” (2009) and hadn’t seen recent movies starring Joel Edgerton.  However, no matter how many movies I had seen “The Great Gatsby” cast in previously, the character posters all made me excited to see it in theaters.  From the trailers, I knew I’d love everyone in it; everything about this movie looked amazing and the soundtrack sounded equally so.

I expected that most likely, I’d see this movie in 3-D and although I heard some didn’t like the added technology, I wouldn’t mind it.  While awaiting the start of another movie, a preview for “The Great Gatsby” showed in 3-D.  As far as which way a movie is shown, I figure that as long as I really like what I’m watching, it can be in 2-D or 3-D because it’s not the only factor drawing me to buy a ticket.  “The Great Gatsby,” leading up to its theater release was already another movie I’d watch in either format and also one that I’d add to my favorites starring DiCaprio.

Not all of those favorites can be found in my DVD collection.  However, these are the ones I do have and I can’t wait until “The Great Gatsby” is available to buy.  Since I already mentioned “Titanic,” I’m just focusing on the others in the collection and what I liked about those movies.

Leo DiCaprio Movies

“Catch Me If You Can” (2002)

Pretending to be various types of professionals in the workforce eventually has DiCaprio, as Frank Abagnale, Jr., sought by the law.  Another long-time favorite, Tom Hanks, takes on the role of authority in chasing the young man claiming to be a doctor, lawyer and pilot.  A lot of money is involved in the grand international scheme.  Along the way, the young Abagnale meets women, including a nurse played by Amy Adams; I admire her from so many roles since this one.  Also a favorite, Christopher Walken starred as the senior Abagnale, with whom his son seems to have a close relationship before family trouble.  It’s amazing that this is based on a true story and reminds me of some incidents in history that I’ve heard about on “Mysteries at the Museum.”  That show has a lot of intriguing stories and “Catch Me If You Can” has that same element, with a great cast to tell it.

“The Aviator” (2004)

Aviation history and old Hollywood glamor, along with the cast, were favorite elements in “The Aviator.”  My own family history includes a mix of military service and ties to a place linked to human flight, the Outer Banks.  So a story about Howard Hughes, his role in aviation and as a filmmaker for a movie centered on warplanes, was of great interest.  The premiere scene for the warplanes movie, as well as other star-studded gatherings of that classic era represented in “The Aviator,” were dazzling.  It’s no wonder that there is nostalgia for long-ago times in film history.  When tuning in to watch the red carpet arrivals for present-day movie awards, some of my favorite styles are those that reflect old Hollywood influence.  A few of DiCaprio’s co-stars represented great silver screen icons. There’s Cate Blanchett as Katharine Hepburn, Kate Beckinsale as Ava Gardner, Gwen Stefani as Jean Harlow and Jude Law as Errol Flynn, to name a few.

“Revolutionary Road” (2008)

This was a must-see, what with DiCaprio and Kate Winslet reuniting for another movie.  Winslet has been one of my favorite actresses ever since first seeing her in “Titanic.”  I went with a friend who is also a fan of both leading stars.  Kathy Bates also joined up with her former co-stars and Michael Shannon was a new amazing talent I hadn’t seen before watching “Revolutionary Road.”  Besides the cast, what I loved about this movie was the classic look due to the time period in which the story is set.

“Shutter Island” (2010)

A suspense-filled story of atmospheric scenes taking place along a dramatic coastal location made for a great mystery.  The search for a missing patient leads to a surprising realization as to who that is and denial sets in at first.  Images of the past begin to explain that patient’s background story which brought on the real reason for being at the facility.  Great acting by DiCaprio and co-stars including Michelle Williams, Mark Ruffalo and Sir Ben Kingsley.

“Inception” (2010)

Another Christopher Nolan movie with amazing special effects and a story about multiple levels of dreams, its trailers had me hooked.  “Inception” starred a number of favorites among the cast in the many action-packed scenes, representing what the characters see as they dream.  The hallway fight scene involving Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character was one of those dream sequences during which the reaction of an impressed theater audience could be heard.  Another one was when DiCaprio’s and Ellen Page’s characters are sitting at an outdoor cafe table discussing the state of dreaming.  The sudden complications that arise, caused by Marion Cotillard’s troubled character add to the danger of the team’s plan.  Tom Hardy and Cillian Murphy also starred as part of the team which takes on the mission of multi-level dreams; both are new favorites of mine.  The cast overall had a great mix of veteran actors and new generations.

I went to see “J. Edgar” (2011) at the theater I usually go to and have seen it a couple of times recently on TV.  It still surprises me that DiCaprio didn’t get an Oscar nomination for it and then, the same for last year’s “Django Unchained” at that award level.  Now, I look forward to seeing “The Wolf of Wall Street” (2013).  I’m hoping that he’ll win at the Oscars in the future; he’s one of those movie stars whom I feel will do so sooner or later.

DiCaprio Gatsby Oscar

What would you say is your favorite movie in which DiCaprio has starred?