A few computer issues slowed me down in watching DVDs lately, both in my bundle of new ones and getting Oscar-nominated movies.  My laptop’s DVD drive stopping working and would spit discs out after a moment or two.  At first, I thought it was one particular disc of a TV-movie.  Maybe the disc was too old for my laptop.  But then, the same thing happened to a couple of DVDs of new movies.  Having the laptop to watch movies on, it put off setting up the main DVD player for time being.  Now that’s going to be hooked up soon and my laptop will be taken in for service.  The mouse pad needs repairing, although that’s resolved for the moment with a wireless mouse.

Six New DVDs

As for catching up on some of my new DVDs that I haven’t watched, those can wait for a while.  Of the DVDs above, I saw “Lords of Dogtown” on TV a few times here and there.  For now, I mostly want to try and see some of the Oscar-nominated movies before the night of those awards comes along.  “Les Miserables,” “Lincoln” and “Django Unchained” are playing at one theatre I often go to; I can see “Amour” and “Silver Linings Playbook” at another location.  There were more I wanted to see, but catching up on five is more than enough if I do so between now and the Oscars ceremony.

Just like it is every year, this award season has been pretty interesting with numerous surprises along the way.  I’m looking forward to watching and seeing which nominees win.  Then it’s on to the movies that 2013 has in store.  So far, I’m hoping to see “Oz: The Great and Powerful” and “The Great Gatsby” with friends when those movies are released.  Looking to award season of next year, I’d love to have an Oscar viewing party with friends to wrap it up.