Even without ever having seen any films that star Marilyn Monroe, her status as an icon can’t be missed.  Marilyn is one of those stars who, to me, continue to gain new fans simply through the many forms in which we see her image represented.  A book cover, calendar or artwork featuring a classic Marilyn photo can spark interest in finding out more about her.  In turn, a person whose curiosity is stirred by Marilyn-themed items in a store checks out the  films in which she starred.

That’s the way it was for me in regards to becoming a fan of classic Hollywood stars, especially those who died before my time.  I’ve seen likenesses of Marilyn on many items throughout my life but had not seen a lot of her films until recently.

I went to see “My Week with Marilyn” toward the end of last year and loved both the film and Michelle Williams’ performance.  Focusing on the time when Marilyn was filming “The Prince and the Showgirl” (1957), the biopic inspired me to watch the latter film (starring Laurence Olivier) whenever I first had the chance.  Other films I’ve seen starring Marilyn Monroe include:

  • “The Misfits” (1961)
  • “Some Like It Hot” (1959)
  • “Bus Stop” (1956)
  • “How to Marry a Millionaire” (1953)
  • “There’s No Business Like Show Business” (1954)

For anyone who hasn’t seen these yet, they are all worth watching for so many reasons from cast performances to visual details.  Marilyn’s characters encountered situations that were easy to connect with, whether doubting her appearance with glasses on or trying to avoid someone’s unwanted advances.  When she played characters who sang, Marilyn showed a great variety in her vocal abilities as a songstress.  While I can’t connect to singing abilities, it’s about the glamour of that era when her characters perform for their audiences within the films.  Marilyn’s own glamour continues to draw new fans toward her, connecting with and admiring her life in some way.  As a classic Hollywood fan, I think it is really awesome that younger generations come along and still appreciate the same legendary faces.

I hope to catch more films that Marilyn starred in as they air on TCM from time to time and visit some places relevant to her life.  You can find out more about such places in these slideshows via the About and Huffington Post Canada websites.

What’s your favorite film starring Marilyn Monroe?