My semester is at it’s mid-way point and film classes are going well, most recently discussing sound in one class and finishing “Dr. Strangelove” in another.  I have writing assignments in the works for both of those classes.  For the moment, I’m most of the way through spring break but am trying to get a jump on these assignments with the remaining free time.

For my film appreciation class, I’m writing my term paper on the mise-en-scene elements of “12 Angry Men” (1957).  This time last year, I was working on a term paper about “Rebel without a Cause.”  For anyone who hasn’t seen “12 Angry Men,” there’s a juvenile delinquent theme in that film as well, except that it isn’t from the teen point of view.  It’s a very good film and I would recommend it to those who haven’t seen it yet.

In the class focusing on Stanley Kubrick films, I don’t have to start a full term paper just yet.  The writing assignment right now is to choose a particular scene in one film and analyze the directing techniques in it.  I’m going with “2001: A Space Odyssey,” although I’m not sure yet which scene to write about.  I just have to narrow it down among the scenes I’m most interested in for the assignment.