“J. Edgar” (2011)

I have been hearing talk about a possible Oscar nomination for Leonardo DiCaprio as FBI director J. Edgar since earlier in 2011.  It was probably shortly after last year’s award season ended that I saw an article online discussing that possibility for 2012.  DiCaprio is up against some other Hollywood favorites this year, all very talented men.  However, when I think about how DiCaprio had to portray a real-life person, use an accent as well as grow old, I’m hoping that it’s his turn for an Oscar win.  According to the list of nominations on IMDB, DiCaprio’s talent on the Academy Award level goes way back.  With the Critics’ Choice Awards are just a few days away, I wonder how the wins from that will affect the rest of the award season results.  Will DiCaprio’s “J. Edgar” performance get a winning streak for best actor this year, such as Colin Firth had last year for “The King’s Speech?”

“My Week with Marilyn” (2011)

This was another one that I heard some buzz about following last year’s awards and was looking forward to ever since.  A few weeks ago, I saw a half-hour show about the making of this movie.  I was intrigued by this movie from the start, but watching a “making of” hooked me.  It was the first time I saw a side-by-side comparison of Marilyn Monroe and Michelle Williams in character as the Hollywood icon.  Without a doubt, it would be impossible to come any closer in resemblance to Marilyn as Williams does.  Going to see it was somewhat delayed, yet was worth the extra waiting.  Now that I’ve seen “My Week with Marilyn,” I’d really like to see the 1957 movie, “The Prince and the Showgirl,” which the Marilyn biopic was centered around.  Check out a photo from “The Prince and the Showgirl”on IMDB.  I’m hoping that Williams will have some award season wins from her great portrayal of Marilyn.

“The Artist” (2011)

Where do I begin?  There is so much I loved about this film!  I’ve heard it described as a must-see for real film fans and I agree.  It’s definitely one of my favorites going into award season this year; that goes for the acting, cinematography, the mix of drama and comedy.  There is the storyline of how movie stars convey everything to their audiences in silent films and then with talkies.  Conflict arises regarding that change in the movie-making experience for George Valentin (Jean Dujardin) and Peppy Miller (Berenice Bejo).  As the story reflects the public’s growing interest in talkies, emotion was conveyed very well in this present-day silent film.  Seeing a new movie that’s silent in this day and age was something I never would have imagined, and definitely a unique movie-going experience.

Adding to that unique experience was the factor of where I went to see “The Artist,” a landmark Main Line area theatre, Bryn Mawr Film Institute.  It’s not the closest theatre choice for me, so I’ve only been there three times so far.  However, I really like the atmosphere at BMFI; definitely check it out if you’re ever in the area.  Hang out before or after a movie at Milkboy Coffee, too.