There have been a lot of really good movies recently that I want to buy on DVD, and many others currently playing or coming soon that I want to see at the theatre.  From independents and blockbusters, to historical and fantasy, to documentaries and remakes, here is my updated list of must-see movies.

  • “Carnage” (2011)
  • “Like Crazy” (2011)
  • “One Day” (2011)
  • “The Help” (2011)
  • “50/50” (2011)
  • “J. Edgar” (2011)
  • “Sal” (2011)
  • “The Iron Lady” (2011)
  • “The Descendants” (2011)
  • “Life in a Day” (2011)
  • “Another Earth” (2011)
  • “Melancholia” (2011)
  • “Midnight in Paris” (2011)
  • “The Innkeepers” (2011)
  • “The Awakening” (2011)
  • “We Bought a Zoo” (2011)
  • “Dolphin Tale” (2011)
  • “The Tree of Life” (2011)
  • “The Three Musketeers” (2011)
  • “Anonymous” (2011)
  • “Martha Marcy May Marlene” (2011)
  • “My Week with Marilyn” (2011)
  • “Corman’s World: Exploits of a Hollywood Rebel” (2011)
  • “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” (2011)
  • “Salmon Fishing in the Yemen” (2011)
  • “The Broken Tower” (2011)
  • “The Dark Knight Rises” (2012)
  • “Snow White and the Huntsman” (2012)
  • “Mirror, Mirror” (2012)
  • “The Raven” (2012)
  • “On the Road” (2012)
  • “Dark Shadows” (2012)
  • “The Woman in Black” (2012)
  • “Big Miracle” (2012)
  • “Rock of Ages” (2012)
  • “Bel Ami” (2012)
  • “Titanic” 3D (2012)
  • “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter” (2012)
  • “Journey 2: The Mysterious Island” (2012)
  • “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” (2012)
  • “The Hobbit: There and Back Again” (2013)
  • “Oz: The Great and Powerful” (2013)

I might have listed a few of these in a previous post, but I’m just added them as a reminder to get them on DVD since I missed them at the theatre.  Others that I mentioned before are coming up soon.  Most of these, however, are new on my must-see list.  Check out their trailers on IMDB.

Two of the best movies I’ve seen recently at the theatre include “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” and “Contagion.”

A word on remakes:

There is the remake of “Dirty Dancing,” but I am just curious as to who will be cast in it.  I saw this Huffington Post article with a slideshow of various actors and actresses, and commentary captions about whether or not they’d be good choices for certain characters.  Such slideshows don’t state that any of those actors or actresses are considering the roles; it’s just meant as opinion, and to find out what readers think if the remake included this or that actor / actress.  I can sort of see certain actors and actresses in certain roles, but others not so much.

Most of the time, I favor the original movie over any remake attempt; an example of that – “The Thing.”  There are some remakes I like a lot, which was the case with the new “Footloose.”  Of course, I still think the original is better.  As for “Dirty Dancing” and its remake, I’m sticking to the original because I can’t picture anyone besides Patrick Swayze (R.I.P.) as Johnny Castle.