>I was up between the hours of 4 and 6 a.m. yesterday, watching a silent film on TCM about a girl who wanted to be famous. There was a scene in which the girl was being directed to cry after receiving some sad news.


Without giving too much away, the scene goes into an actor’s ability to cry on cue when a scene calls for it. The film’s story also involves the newly famous girl’s celebrity life and its impact on her pre-fame life. To me, this silent film is timeless in those respects. I always wonder how an actor or actress can cry when needed for a scene. I love the emotion that some actors and actresses can show in their roles. Also, there are plenty of examples of how fame and someone’s personal life don’t always mesh well.


There were a lot of funny moments in this film, along with funny quotes shown between certain scenes. So I’d recommend it to others because of the laughs it gave me throughout the film.