>On Thursday, Sept. 16, I tuned into the Turner Classic Movies channel and watched the 1948 version of Hamlet starring Laurence Olivier. When watching TCM, I sometimes catch the commentary by host Robert Osborne before or after a film. This time, Osborne said that Olivier brought Shakespearean work “to the public” with the Hamlet (1948).

Hamlet was also the first Shakespearean play I read, leading to my interest in Shakepeare’s other famous works. Those include not only the plays, but the sonnets as well.

My thoughts about the 1948 film version of Hamlet are on how haunting it felt. Of course, there is the ghost theme in Hamlet. However, that’s not why I felt the film to be haunting. It was the acting by Olivier as Hamlet, watching the moments in which there was a great deal of emotion. The character Ophelia, played by Jean Simmons, was equally haunting as she began to seem out-of-sorts. The voice-over heard during the drowning scene added to that other-worldly feel in that part of the film.

I would definitely recommend this film version of William Shakespeare’s Hamlet to anyone who hasn’t seen it. In my opinion, it makes a great addition to any list of films from the Old Hollywood era.